Brew Belt

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

czucker

Reaction score
So, I was thinking for a minute about making my own brew belts. At the end of the day, I'll likely just end up buying them.

But, I'm curious as to how you would go about it.

I couldn't for the life of me figure out how to make such a low watt heating element on a 120v power source.

I'm an electrical novice and can just get through some Ohm's Law calculations, but not much else.

Can anyone shed some light on this?

Thanks,
Chris

I know this doesnt help but the first thing that popped into my mind when reading this thread:

electrical novice + homeade heating element = house burned to the ground

be careful and make sure all your fire detectors have fresh batteries!

Thanks for the warning. I'm not too worried. I always make sure to thoroughly research anything I'm planning on building. Electrical or otherwise.

Nonetheless, that is some good advice. I'll be sure to check the carbon monoxide sensors too.

Thanks,
Chris

There a lots of alternatives. . . Heating pad, ceramic lamp, etc.

I'm actually just really curious about how the brew belts are wired.

I do appreciate folks taking the time to reply, but I'm not so interested in alternatives suggestions/advice.

I'm hoping that with all of the varied expertise represented on this forum, someone might be able to shed some light on the above question.

Thanks again,
Chris

So, heating pads are heated by wires heating under the amperage being too high to flow over them.