looking at using electric, I could use a lot of help.

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

killian

Reaction score
if you take the 120v X 20 amps you get 2400 watts. You are safe running at 80% full time so take the 2400 x .8 and you get 1920 watts. That's if you have nothing else on the circuit. you'll need to deduct the controller you end up with, lights, etc. What type of system were you thinking of?

How long would it take to heat 5 or 10 gallons of water @ 1920 watts?

I'm not sure yet. Right now I'm thinking about putting an element in a 5 gallon kettle and recirculating the wort or water. Initially I'm planning on a switch to turn the element on/off.

I'm a total noob when it comes to electric and wiring

A 120v 20a feed is not going to do much for you. If you want a full electric system get at least 30a 240v. I ran my shop and a 4500w HLT with a 20a 240v feed for quite a while now. That is boiling with propane. I just trenched in a 100a feed though.

A 120v 20a feed is not going to do much for you. If you want a full electric system get at least 30a 240v. I ran my shop and a 4500w HLT with a 20a 240v feed for quite a while now. That is boiling with propane. I just trenched in a 100a feed though.

Thanks for the reply, I have heard this before. Currently switching to 240V is not in the brew budget.

I used an 1800 watt element and was able to brew a 5 gal batch this last weekend with no problems, its slower than propane but I like going a little slower if I dont have to listen to the blast of a propane burner for an hour!

So How long would it take to heat 5 gallons of water to 170°F @ 1920 watts? I know you have to account for heat loss so just say there is no loss.