Noob cider help... How long do you generally ferment Cider?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

unclejimbay

Reaction score
I am new to this cider thing. I have been brewing a year.

I have two 1 Gallon test cider batches with Nottingham Ale yeast @ ~2 weeks that started on 5/27/09. I also have one 2 Gallon test batch of Cider that was mixed with US 05 Ale yeast that was started on 6/4/09. I am also going to make some future test batches using Fermentis Ale T58 and WB06.

I have 3 questions;

1. How long do you usually wait for full fermentation before you bottle? I do 2 weeks of prmary for my beers. Is 2 weeks sufficient? Do I need to wait 4 weeks?
2. Is a secondary required fro Ciders? Can I leave it in a primary for the full fermentation.
3. What is the typical FG for ciders using Ale yeasts? (Specifically Nottingham and/or US05)?

:confused:

#1 until final gravity is at or around 1.00 assuming you didn't add any extra fermentables, etc.
#2 it helps, the cider will throw lees from up to a year, and yes you can bottle early, but the lees can flake off when you poor, tastes bad, and is off putting to some people. many think cider doesn't reach peak flavor for about a year.
#3 1.00 or so.

1. How long do you usually wait for full fermentation before you bottle? I do 2 weeks of prmary for my beers. Is 2 weeks sufficient? Do I need to wait 4 weeks?
2. Is a secondary required fro Ciders? Can I leave it in a primary for the full fermentation.
3. What is the typical FG for ciders using Ale yeasts? (Specifically Nottingham and/or US05)?[/QUOTE]