AltBier

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Moos

Reaction score
So i'm still a Noob at brewing, I am on my 5th batch. I have been reading here for awhile now and this is my first post. I have some questions on an Alt Bier I got going (which when started was my second batch). I bought the kit from my local shop, used East Coast ale yeast WLP008. This was all on the suggestions of the local shop (before I started reading extensively). Anyway, I left it in the primary fermentary for 10 days. My OG was 1.050 and after 7 days it was down to 1.020. At ten days it was still 1.020 so I moved it to a secondary and placed it in the fridge set at 40 degrees. It has been in there for 3 weeks now and at the month mark I was planning on bottling. This is where I start the questions.

When I go to bottle should I take the carboy out of the fridge for a couple of days to let it come back up to room temp? or should I pull it straight out of the fridge and bottle while it's still cold? Or should I pull it out of the fridge and let it condition longer (week or 2) at room temp?

I'm sure someone who knows much more than I will be along here shortly to clarify things, but I don't think your wort should have been in the fridge unless you were using a Lager yeast.

I'm thinking that you have sent your ale yeasties into hybernation! No real harm done. I would place the primary at room temp, 60F - 75F, for three weeks of conditioning, and then proceed on as you have stated.

Pogo