adventures in welding stainless

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

jonp9576

Reaction score
i've been using a stick welder for a few years here and there. i am not good, but not terrible.

the other day we got a mig welder. oh man is this thing fun and easy. i used it to finish up me brew rig.

then i decided i want to try some stainless so some day i can get my sweet conical fermenter project under way.

this was the mess that happened.
Apr17_0003.jpg

Apr17_0002.jpg

after burning through trying to weld 2 pieces together i just tried laying a nice bead down on one piece. i think i am getting the hang of it. a little
Apr17_0004.jpg

comments?
tips?
different things to try?

I've never welded Stainless but if I were to comment as a mild steel weld, I would say too much feed or to slow travel. From what I can see it looks like the edges bonded so the temp is probably correct.
I would stay away from welding tubing until you become proficient because you cant get to the inside for cleaning.

Welding stainless is a lot like welding mild steel. Looks like you have the feed up way too much or you're traveling too slow. Are you using argon?

thanks for the input everyone. i was only messing around with the tubing because it was laying around here i figured i would give it a shot.

yes i am using argon.

as far as the feed speed goes. i have found that with the stick welder i can control me speed and leave a nice bead. with this mig, i feel like it is rushing me. do i need to turn the feed down, or move faster? maybe a little of both.

i was getting "big" welds like this when doing steel too. instead of a flattened stack of coins it was looking like a stack upright. tips? links to a good video online?