Harvesting from Chimay?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Pelikan

Reaction score
I'm sipping on a Chimey Grand Reserve at the moment (blue). Before I popped the bottle, I noticed some serious yeast/sedimentation. I checked the label, and it says right on there "not filtered or pasteurized" and went on to describe how father so-and-so isolated the strain.

Is Chimey a good candidate for bottle harvesting? I've never done it before, but with this much yeast in the bottle it almost seems like child's play. Can one just dump the last inch or so into a prepared starter flask and place on the stir plate?

I'm flirting with the idea of doing a Chimey clone after my next "on deck" brew...

I think im not positive but I think I remember hearing that they use a different yeast to bottle than they do to ferment.

IIRC Chimay uses the same yeast for bottle conditioning. You can also buy the Wyeast and Whitelabs versions of the strain.

Is Wyeast 1214 the same strain? If so I'll just buy a packet of that (cheaper than a bottle of Chimay anyway, as ironic as that is). Thanks for the spelling correction too, love it when people do that.

I'm not sure specifically about Chimay, but in general most commercial breweries that bottle condition use a different strain for bottling than for fermentation. They do this because their yeast strains are proprietary and they don't want people or other breweries harvesting their yeast and replicating their beer.

If memory serves, 1214 is the Chimay strain. This strain can be slow to get going, so make sure to pitch a large starter.