Carbing a 9.5% Belgian Tripel

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

jmf143

Reaction score
Can I bottle this beer using priming sugar and the yeast that is still in suspension or will I need to use some dry yeast? I don't plan on opening the first bottle for at least a couple of months, so if priming sugar alone will work given enough time I'm happy to wait.

I used Wyeast 1214. I racked it onto some Knox last night after 4 weeks on the yeast.

I am no expert but you may need champagne yeast when you get to that level of alcohol.

I bottled a pretty big dubbel on priming sugar and a small amount of Notty.

I was also told you could use US05 or any clean-fermenting yeast (not a full pack, maybe 1 or 2 grams depending on how big your batch is)

(I was planning on leaving the dubbel for a few months as well).

It is highly, highly likely that you have viable cells ready to munch your priming sugar. A couple of months, though, may not be enough regardless. I have a 9.5 dark Belgian bottle conditionting now and it took almost ninety days to see ANY carbonation. I don't expect it to be fully carbed for another thirty to sixty, after which I'll leave it conditioning for another ninety just to rub off the rough edges. BTW, I did reyeast this beer at bottling, but it had been over ninety days in secondary.

I bottled a pretty big dubbel on priming sugar and a small amount of Notty.

I was also told you could use US05 or any clean-fermenting yeast (not a full pack, maybe 1 or 2 grams depending on how big your batch is)

(I was planning on leaving the dubbel for a few months as well).