Bottle priming 9.0% beer after gelatin fining

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

greenbirds

Reaction score
Brewed an imperial IPA that hit 9% with S-05. It was in the primary for 3 weeks, racked it onto gelatin for a week, then dry hopped it for a week. I failed to realize that dropping all (well, vast majority) of that yeast out of suspension might make it very hard to carbonate in the bottle.

I'm concerned that its glorious hop aroma will fade while it's waiting to carb up 6-8+ weeks at room temp. Are my fears unfounded? I've been reading about counterpressure filling from my keg, but I have no experience with that. Maybe stirring up some yeast or adding fresh S-05 would be my best bet for bottling?

Have you had this trouble before? Because I almost always use some sort of finings (Irish Moss) and have never had trouble with bottle conditioning after a secondary. I'm not experienced with gelatin, but I would imagine that there would still be plenty of yeast suspended to carb the bottle within 3 weeks. If you are that concerned, I don't see why adding some yeast before bottling would be a bad thing.

Yes, tough dilemma. Personally, I would want to get that beer in a bottle ASAP.