Help with chile beer recipe and pepper prep

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

wowbeeryum

Reaction score
My friend has requested that I make him a chile beer using his homegrown anaheim peppers. My friend pointed out a local chile beer he has tried and liked: http://coopersmithspub.com/Beers/sigdas-green-chile/

Sigda’s Green Chile
Malts: Pale
Hops: Cluster, Tettnang
Yeast: English Ale
O.G. 12.8 Plato F.G. 1.7 Plato
IBUs: 15

While I don't need to make an exact clone, I want to make something along the lines of this beer. I've never had this beer, but on the surface it looks like a basic blonde with little hop presence.

I'm still very new at this, but took a stab at a recipe: http://hopville.com/recipe/1614251/spice-herb-or-vegetable-beer-recipes/chile-beer

4.5 gallons

OG: 1.051
FG: 1.013
IBUs: 16

6.25 lbs Maris Otter
1.5 lbs Pale LME
.5 lb C-10

.4 oz Cluster @ 60
.25 oz Cluster @ 20

Wyeast British Ale 1098

I'm a partial mash brewer and can handle up to about 7 lbs of grain. Thoughts on the overall recipe? The Coopersmith's beer finishes below 1.008, so I'm wondering how to do that myself. Use sugar in the recipe (never done this)? Mash super low (maybe 147-148)?

Any comment on the hop selection? My LHBS sells hops in 2oz packages, so I'd like to limit the hop purchase to only 1 as to not be wasteful. Additionally, I have 1.5oz of Opal and .5oz of Saaz at home already and could use those if they would work ok. My LHBS has a decent selection of hops, but not sure if they have Cluster. Just in case, thoughts on using Mt Hood, Nugget, or something along those lines if that's what's in stock?