Ultra Palmolive Oxy Plus w/Bleach Alternative

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

gyrfalcon

Reaction score
I've started to use this to clean/sanitize a lot of my equipment. It's really seems to work great and it's phosphate free!

I'm sure Colgate doesn't need me pushing their products for them but I really think other brewers might like it!

palm.PNG

I got palmolive on my lips once.... it wouldn't come out... kinda like how you can get it on your hands, wash your hands, and it like starts to "seep" out of your hands....

oh, nasty...

That said, I have no experience with the product you show in the pic, I just have a prejudice against palmolive.

I have that very bottle on my sink! Don't use it....the surfactants are not designed to rinse clean. It's meant to clean,soak, then go to the dishwasher. You're gonna get soapy/bleachy flavors...I'd just stick with what's proven.....oxyclean/pbw/starsan.

What gave you the idea that dish soap was an adequate sanitizer?? I can see using it for cleaning, but certainly not sanitizing...

ScubaSteve said:
I have that very bottle on my sink! Don't use it....the surfactants are not designed to rinse clean. It's meant to clean,soak, then go to the dishwasher. You're gonna get soapy/bleachy flavors...I'd just stick with what's proven.....oxyclean/pbw/starsan.

How do you know the surfactants, if any, are not designed to rinse clean? I hand wash a lot of my equipment and this product has been working very well for me.

I still use other products like PBW and 1Step.

Funkenjäger said:
What gave you the idea that dish soap was an adequate sanitizer?? I can see using it for cleaning, but certainly not sanitizing...