Um, whoops.

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

indy

Reaction score
I'm a newbie, working on my first few batches as of a week ago. 1 apple, 1 grape, and 2 types of strawberry. I like strawberries :) I'm doing nothing but 1 gallon batches right now, which I think is good as all I know is what I've read and that's about it.

Anyway I"ve got my 2 berry batches in the sink so I can transfer them to their secondaries. The lids are propped open and I start to wash my hands. While doing so I Take a squirt of hand soap which chooses a very opportune moment to squirt out funny and a drop shoots up and I think, over the rim of the primary on my simpler and sooner to finish batch.

I transferred them both any, fitted airlocks etc. The uncontaminated batch is bubbling away nicely, the contaminated batch appears to be dead. It's still early, who knows what will happen tomorrow though.

I don't see any choice other than dumping it of course, but I'm a little surprised that 1 drop would kill off any active fermentation.

Anyway, how ya'll doing? :D

It may not be dead. I recently had a mead that I had no activity on the airlock, so after two weeks I was prepared to pitch a different yeast only to find out with a hydrometer that it was done fermenting.

So before you totally and completely give up on it, say a little prayer and take a hydrometer reading. Maybe it isn't dead.

Ok, if I'm reading it right the SG is .994

It tastes, not good. Kind of thin and bitter. But I did use a cup of water to top with, that probably didn't help. But it didn't taste soapy :)

The recipe I used

* 3 lbs. fresh strawberries
* 2-1/2 lbs. granulated sugar
* 2 tsp. citric acid
* water to make 1 gallon
* wine yeast & nutrient