Are You Filtering Water for Extract Brewing

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Bassman

Reaction score
I posted a question related to my Pur water filter in another forum but after posting it I realized what the real question is.

I am doing extract with specialty grain brewing. I live in New York City. How important is filtering your water for extract brewing? If you are filtering, what do you use? Do you boil your top-off water?

I have a number of gallon jugs that I fill with PUR filtered tap water.

I place 4 of them in the deep freezer about 4-5 hours prior to brewing and use it for top off water. I do not boil it. I've been using this technique since 1994.

I've been doing mostly partial mashes this year and still put water in the freezer even though I have a wort chiller.

I filter mine, but I have a well and don't like the taste. If you're concerned about chlorine you can always do a full boil.

I have used a PUR filter also and it works pretty good. The county has been working on expanding the water service so for the las month or so the water has not tasted the same. I switched to distilled water for my extract brews just to try it out. According to a brew cast I heard, it stated LME/DME already has minerals from the water that was boiled off while it was made. I will see in two weeks if using distilled water makes a difference in my extract brews. When the county stops screwing with the water chemicals because of the expansion I will go back to using the PUR filter.