Yeast inactive?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

TW1Kell

Reaction score
This is my first attempt at wine-making, tho I have been beer brewing for a few months, now. I followed a recipe for peach wine and everything went fine for about 2 weeks. I pitched to my secondary, and the airlock was popping about every 2 seconds, letting a nice bubble up. After 2 days of this, it started getting really foamy and filled the airlock full of foam. I used a straw to remove enough of the foamy mess to have the liquid back to the "fill line" on the airlock, and all was well for another 2 days. At that point, it all stopped. Nothing. No foam, no bubbles, just sediment settling down in the wine. Is this normal? I don't see any activity, at all.

I used 2.5 pounds of peaches, 7 pints of water, pectin, acid blend,etc., all of the goodies listed in the recipe, and a full package of yeast, as came with my kit and as advised in the recipe book that came with it. If this is just normal, fine, but I am concerned as it's my 1st attempt and I have no knowledge to draw from. Thanks for any insight.

So...you think I'm still ok? I haven't a clue to what's going on in that carboy. hahaha SG measurements?

The haha was aimed at the not having a clue. Can I pour the SG sample back in, with wine? I mean, taking samples takes a bit of the good stuff and I'm starting out with only a gallon, in the first place.

you dont pitch to your secondary...you transfer, you can dump the test sample back in aslong as everything is sanitized....what kind of yeast did you use?

I used 2.5 pounds of peaches, 7 pints of water, pectin, acid blend,etc., all of the goodies listed in the recipe