Lager Yeast starter suggestions

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Lupulist

Reaction score
OK guys I am a long time reader but new member to the forums and first post.

My brew partner and I have been brewing all grain ales for close to a year and its about damn time we try out a lager. We are going to get our feet wet with a 10gal batch of a Vienna lager at 1.052og.

I have never used a yeast starter before and it seems that for this style it is highly recommended. The problem is that I have been getting information ranging from one end of the spectrum to the other.

For instance, Mr. Malty suggests 1.5gal of starter using 3 vials of liquid yeast. But an employee at the brewing supply store suggested a 2 quart starter using just 1 vial.

Also it was suggested to me that I pitch the whole starter at about 24hrs, while another suggestion was to wait 3 days, decanter the liquid out and pitch the yeast cake. Which is correct?

I know this subject has been beaten to death but it seems every page I open is giving me a different answer and I dont know who to listen to, there has got to be a "correct" way.

Thanks in advance.

You can do a step starter. You have to cold crash your starter and decant between steps. Check out this website http://yeastcalc.com/ it can tell you how much yeast your going to need and how many times you are going to step it up. I figure a little more than 300 billon cells for your O.G.

You want to pitch your starter at high krausen I believe, and since lagers need a large amount of healthy yeast, I would trust Mr. Malty. I'm still new to Lagers as well, but I'm someone with more knowledge chime in here eventually..