A little advice please?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

IanBiggins

Reaction score
Hey there, I'm very new to the whole idea of home brewing and decided to buy a little starter kit to get myself going. I got underway making my mead and after finishing preparing the must, etc etc and leaving it for a few hours there's not much in the way of foam or bubbling, should I be worried or just be patient?

tumblr_luavx1Vqr71ql83dco1_500.jpg

I'm probably just being a little paranoid, but some reassurance would be nice. Thanks in advance!

A few hours is nothing, so I'd let it ride for while...a few details are always helpful (original gravity, or if you didn't take a reading, the amount of honey and volume of your batch; the type of yeast; if it was dry yeast, did you rehydrate it?)

Either way, I'll bet by this time tomorrow, you'll report back that the fermentation is rocking...

Agreed, fermentaion can take up to 2 hours pr thereabouts, depending on the variable biochemedic mentioned above, youre good.

A straight mead really doesn't foam up very much if at all. At least nothing like beer or a melomel. Forget about it for a long while...mead likes being abandoned.
-cheers

Wow! Thanks for All the replies folks! Great wee community. I got home from work this morning, lo and behold:

tumblr_luc93gMCni1ql83dco1_500.jpg

Foam!!

As for the gravity, etc I can't say much on that. It contained 3 pound of honey though.

Depending on the yeast you used, there may not be much visual evidence beyond what you see on top of your must. Is your airlock bubbling?

A straight mead really doesn't foam up very much if at all. At least nothing like beer or a melomel. Forget about it for a long while...mead likes being abandoned.
-cheers