First attempt at building a recipe. Thoughts? Advice?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

kgranger

Small Wave Brewing
HBT Supporter
Reaction score
This is my first try building a recipe with BeerSmith, and I'm looking for some feedback. I'm basing a beer on a concept of working with two colors: Red and Purple. So I thought - although this seems weird - an irish red ale with lavender. Here is what I've compiled.

Yield: 5 Gal
1 lbs 0.4 oz Biscuit Malt
1 lbs 0.4 oz Caramel/Crystal Malt - 40L
4.9 oz Special B Malt
4 lbs 13.7 oz Light Dry Extract
8.0 oz Honey
1 oz Goldings, East Kent [5.00 %] - Boil 65.0 min
1 oz Perle [8.20 %] - Boil 15.0 min
Irish Ale (Wyeast Labs #1084)

I am thinking about adding 1-2 Tbsp of Grasso or culinary lavender during last 10 min of boil, and/or dry hopping in secondary. Thoughts on this would be great.

Est Original Gravity: 1.048 SG
Est Final Gravity: 1.011 SG
Bitterness: 25.9 IBUs
Est Color: 15.0 SRM

Take this with a grain of salt since I've only had one beer with lavender in it, but any detectable amounts of lavender that get through seem to taste or smell soap-ish.

An alternative idea to keep with the purple theme would be to use some purple maize as an adjunct. Certainly not as bold as putting lavender in, but then again I like to keep things simple.

I personally don't think of lavender as an aroma or flavor that would come through very well with beer. Blackberries would be a natural choice for purple, and they play very well with beer.