First attempt to create a clone recipe:"Troegs Troegenator Bourbon Barrel Aged Clone"

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

genxweb

Reaction score
First attempt to create a clone recipe:"Troegs Troegenator Bourbon Barrel Aged Clone"

Should of posted this thread here and not in the general section like I did.

First off I have never tried this before. But after searching the internet and reading several articles and forum posts I have come up with this recipe and want to see what you guys think.

The clone is for "Troegs Troegenator Bourbon Barrel Aged Clone" . I had the opportunity to have this last week at their tasting room and it was amazing.

The grain bill and hops came from Troegs website. The amount came from a doppelbock recipe calling for the same grains for a 5 gallon batch. The Troegs website just says lager yeast so I searched for several different doppelbock recipes and what yeast they called for and came up with what I put in the recipe.

The extra section I took from several topics on here and websites on how to add oak, and liquor to a homebrew without actually having a barrel. Then I researched amounts to use for coconut flavoring and vanilla flavoring.

The process is what I planned out in my head to do.

Give it a read and provide some good feedback or ask questions. I been home brewing for a year and normally take a recipe and change it around a bit for experimenting. So far I been on the money. Though this is basically a whole clone from things I put together.

Grains Malts: (This is all grain need to change to extract)

* Pilsner: 4.75 lbs
* Munich: 9 lbs
* Chocolate: 2oz

Hops:

* German Magnum 1 oz 1 hour
* German Northern Brewer 1/2 oz 1 hour? (took time and amount from Brewmutt's doppelbock)

Yeast: