mouthfeel a little off???

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

flyfishnc

Reaction score
i've poured a few pints of my beer from the keg and so far it tastes great! the only thing that is a little concerning is the mouthfeel seems a bit too thick for an American Amber.... well, its really more of an IPA since it's a touch on the hoppy side for an amber.

do you guys have any tips / info on what would make it a little thick?

here's the info on the beer.
brewed - 5/14
transferred to secondary - 5/25
kegged - 6/15

recipe:
6 lb Amber Dry Extract
1 lb Cara-Pils / Dextrine
0.5 lb Caramel / Crystal Malt
2.25 oz Cascade Hops
0.5 oz Amarillo Gold
0.5 oz Amarillo Gold
1 tube California Ale (White Labs #WLP001)

eric

Maybe the Dextrine? I am very new to this but is CaraPils?dextrine the same as Malto Dextrine? I may be wrong. But if I'm right maybe that means Im learning something. Just my $.02

Well, a pound of carapils will do it! I don't use carapils if I'm using a crystal malt, since that also contributes to body and mouthfeel. If a beer will be "thin" or without any head, I add maybe .5 pound of carapils, but it's not something I use very often at all.

Aside from the carapils, the recipe looks good. Try it again with either no carapils or .25 pound at most, and I bet you'll be happier.

Well, a pound of carapils will do it! I don't use carapils if I'm using a crystal malt, since that also contributes to body and mouthfeel. If a beer will be "thin" or without any head, I add maybe .5 pound of carapils, but it's not something I use very often at all.

Aside from the carapils, the recipe looks good. Try it again with either no carapils or .25 pound at most, and I bet you'll be happier.

thanks! what could i use instead?