totally new to homebrewing - feeling overwhelmed

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Catalina

Reaction score
I'm new to homebrewing. I haven't even bought a kit yet. I have been a big beer girl for a long time yet and want to take my hobby to the next level. But I'm already feeling overwhelmed with all the details. How can I begin in the shallow end and not feel like this is all hopelessly over my head?

How can I begin in the shallow end and not feel like this is all hopelessly over my head?

Buy a kit. Throw out the directions and find new ones here. If it were difficult, I wouldn't do it.

Most LHBS have brewing demos that they put on from time to time. Attending one of those is a great way to see the brewing process and realize that it isn't all that scary of a process.

The Complete Joy Of Homebrewing by Charlie Papazian is a good book that will explain everything step by step.

I promise you that if you can boil water and keep things sanitized (not as hard as it sounds) you can make beer.

IMHO, I think you should get a kit and buy Palmer. Read the sections in Palmer that are necessary for a kit (which isnt much). Then brew according to that.

Once you do this, then come back to this site to read and post.

Otherwise it would definitely feel overwhelming.

Always on my mind. Catalina....seek and you shall find.....Catalina.....you were always so kind.....I'll be there for you.........

Sorry, couldn't resist.

Watch videos on YouTube. There are some crappy ones out there, but there are also a lot of good ones. Once you see it, you'll realize its really no big deal. You can also purchase "how to" vids from a lot of places online and probably at your LHBS