Kit Shelf LIfe

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

daveooph131

Reaction score
OK so I found a LHBS going out of buisness. THis guy wants to sell me 5 different Tru Brew kits at a pretty good price. Should I take him up on the offer?

I asked, how old they were and he said none of them were over a year old. Do you think they would taste fine?

Obviously 5 kits is a of brew, what would be the best way to store these to keep them fresh?

I'm still a noob, so it could be good to have a set kit, but at the same time it seems a little boring I think it could be more fun to venture out.

The kits will gradually lose their punch, but shouldn't spoil. When exactly you'd notice a difference, I don't know. Certainly months rather than years.

I'd dismantle them: put the yeast in the fridge, hops in the freezer, crushed grains in a cool basement. Canned extract, probably in the basement as well.

The beer probably won't suck even if you wait a year to brew with these, but fresher is better. So I guess it depends on how good a deal (1/2 price? maybe...) and how often you'll brew. Also, I do think you would want to try others. I prefer AHS, Northern Brewer, etc. kits to True Brew.

Just found 2 NB kits I had been planning to brew a few months back,,,wow.

I am sure they will be OK - not too many critics of my beer yet..I just couldn't come to just pitching it ..I doubt the yeast care .