Empty C02 canisters at an old bar

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

el Jammo

Reaction score
Hey all, this is my first post here on the forum. I'm a college student and am interested in getting my own brewing setup going in the fall and have been using this site as a resource for my future brewing endeavors.

Anyways, I've read about the convenience of kegging versus bottling, but figured that I would definitely start with bottling foremost because it seems like the most basic way to get into brewing, and also because of the increased capital involved in kegging.

Well onto my question: I'm working for Barack Obama as a campaign organizer here in Chapel Hill, and our office is located in an old bar. Just for kicks the other day, I wanted to see if there were any kegs left over under the bar. No kegs, but I did find two C02 canisters strapped to the bar. They look pretty dated, evidenced by sugar stains the stickers being slightly faded.

Neither of them have regulators, but the valve threads look to be fine. Both bottles are labeled for C02 with the non-flammable green sticker, and on the side of one of the bottles it says 'property of Coca-Cola bottling company'.

This got me to thinking about how much the bottles could help me cut down on the price of a kegging setup if I'm interested in it after bottle brewing, but I'm really lost as to the value of the bottles themselves.

Obviously they're used, and without regulators, so I have no idea what the worth of a bottle is without a regulator, and how much this would actually help cut the cost of a kegging setup. Any information that you guys have on this would be greatly appreciated.