I think it's time for a new supplier

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

SFBEER

Reaction score
I was just in one of the local suppliers and I think it is time to considering switching. The new sales guy just finished telling me that there is no need to sterilize the bottles for beer they won't go off. "It's not like they will be sitting around for a month or 2".

Then he said that to just wash the primary. That'll be clean enough.

Ummm I'm new to this but I know that ain't right. I know the owner I wonder if he knows the new guy is telling people to use bad brewing practices.

I'd like to see the beer this guy makes. Well...I suppose I probably don't. He was right in telling you that you don't need to sterilize bottles though. Sanitation is needed, but sterilization is just not neccissary. I've had bottles in my cellar for well over a year.

Most of my bottled beers sit >2 months. Which is WHY I bottle them. Short term beers I keg.

I clean/sterilize my bottles in the dishwasher.

Now primaries definitely need to be sterilized, or you are taking a gamble that's not worth taking IMO.

Also, just because the hired help might have a different take on a process, doesn't mean I would jump ship. You buy their stuff, not their advice.

Not to derail, but I want to highlight suthern's point and point out the distinction between sterilize and sanitize. We don't sterilize our equipment - which would be to kill all life of any kind on our equipment. We do, with starsan or idophor, sanitize our equipment, which kills the noxious bugs which might cause an infection.

But the OP's point that we need to sanitize carefully is, of course, spot on.

SFBEER,