Moving from Partial-Mash to All-Grain: Tips, Suggestions, Warnings?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Evan!

Reaction score
I've been doing Partial Mashes exclusively for a few months now, and the beers are getting better and better. In fact, my Wheat Doppelbock could easily pass for a good German example. So my next step, logically, is All-Grain. I'm thinking I'll start off with the "El Cheapo" mash tun: a cylindrical pic-a-nic cooler fitted with a stopper, a stainless steel water supply hose sheath, copper tubing, etc. Just like this. I thought I'd do the stepped mash like Papazian calls out in CJOH, as that's pretty much what I've been doing on my PM batches.

As I'm a sorta-newbie here, I'm just going on what Papa-Z and Palmer tell me to do. But if anyone has any suggestions, or warnings, I'm very open. What I can't do is spend alot of money on equipment yet, hence the el-cheapo mash tun. Maybe after the holidays, I'll be able to afford a grain mill or something.

So, fire away...

10 gallon cooler instead of 5. I wish I had done the same, but I wasn't planning on going AG quite yet, just doing partials. As it stands, I can probably get an OG of around 1.05 using just grain in the cooler, but since the beers I like tend to start out closer to 1.055 - 1.06, I have to supplement with DME. Not the end of the world - but I'd like, maybe just for selfish pride, to say that I'm truly doing AG instead of "mostly"-AG.

I like the guide here at > http://www.hbd.org/cascade/dennybrew/