How do YOU make YOUR starter, and how long before brewing do YOU start?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

peripatetic

Reaction score
Hey there,

There are a ton of threads about yeast where the answer is "make a starter! here's how I do it: . . ."

I am probably going to take the plunge into using starters, particularly because I want to start moving up in the whole OG department. Belgian Specialty Ales here I come!

But first, I wanted to take a quick survey:

1) do you make a starter? (Never, Depends, Always, RBMSI (Real Brewers Make Starters, Idiot))

2) with what? (water, wort, water then wort, etc.)

3) when do you start your starter? (during brewing, 1 hr before, 1 day before, IAAPYF (I Am A Professional Yeast Farmer))

1. Always, when using liquid yeast. I generally follow mrmalty.com's yeast pitching calculator.

2. Wort, of course. Water is just, well, water. I try to go to about 1.040 for all starters. To make life easier, I use 1/2 cup DME to 2 cups boiling water and scale up as needed depending on how big my starter is.

3. Depends. I like to either pitch within 24 hours, or let it ferment out completely and then put it in the fridge. If it's been in the fridge a few days, I decant the spent wort, swirl up the remains and pitch. That's my preference, actually, especially with lagers.

1. Always...with exception for dry yeast, repitching or very low og session brews

2. I use amber DME with a pint of water, 1.030-1.040. I use a growler and pure o2 for about 30 seconds, then pitch that starter into a carboy with more wort if necessary. I usually don't decant the young beer if its a small starter in a growler but if its in the carboy I'll use SWMBO's creme brulee torch on the neck, cool, decant, wipe down with star san.