Beer style calculator

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

nukebrewer

Brew the brew!
HBT Supporter
Reaction score
I know there are beer calculators out there that will calculate the different numbers for your beer, but is there a calculator that will tell you what style your beer will be based on the OG, FG, IBU, and SRM you provide it? Thanks.

-AJ

I've never heard of such a thing-- is it for your Oatmeal Stout in your profile?

I'd pull up the BJCP Guidelines and compare.

It'd would be a very simple thing for someone who can program to do.
It would also be easy to make a web based application or even a spread sheet to do it.

Well if it doesn't exist, then maybe I will give it a shot. I used to do programming and other computer related things before I started brewing. If it comes to anything I will post it so you all can evaluate it.

I've never heard of such a thing-- is it for your Oatmeal Stout in your profile?

I'd pull up the BJCP Guidelines and compare.

Not particularly, but I would probably use it for that since it I know it's going to be different than what I had originally planned.

Also, on second thought, I would like to gauge interest in a beer style calculator before I go off and make something no one but me would use. So if anyone thinks this is a good idea, let me know I will try make one soon. Thanks.

-AJ

Beersmith has a function to search recipes that you can brew based on current ingredients.
That is similar but yes the function you state would be interesting.
I have never cared what style a beer is. I just brew it regardless.

Others may find it more "useful"

For what its worth it would be neat! I would love to enter in certain characteristics and have it tell me what catogory it falls in.