Pacific Gem Bitter recipe critique?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

JohnA111

Reaction score
Being that its only batch number 3, I thought this would be the right forum as a beginner brewer for some insight. I know I shouldn't be devising my own recipes yet bein a noob, but I used to be a chef and can't help it. 1st batch was a kit Porter that was low on 1 can of LME, turned out 3%ABV bland (drinkable though indeed). 2nd batch is a self devised APA loaded with Amarillo's and Cascades (can't wait to drink, sits in Secondary dry hopping away now witn taste and smell walking toward a Victory Hopdevil-ish beer).

Comments about this brew in the now in the bucket?:

PSB (Pacific (gem) Special Bitter)

70 minute boil

6lbs Extra Light DME
1lb Caramel 25L
1/2lb Roasted Barley 432L
1 tsp Gypsum
1 tblsp Irish Moss at 15 mins in boil

Grains steeped for 30min at 150F

Boil Schedule:
70min: 2lb DME / Pacific Gems (15%AU) .5oz
15min: 4lb DME / Pacific Gems (15%AU) 1oz
Flame Out: Pacific Gems (15%AU) 1oz

Original Gravity: 1.062 @ 60F

Rehydrated Saf 04 pitched at 62F

what else, what else.....

Most everything I could find about PG Hops was mystery and intrigue. Tasted the hydro sample, oh yeah, its gonna be bitter allright and aroma was eh?. PG ain't no Cascade.

I can' t critique your recipe, since I've been all-grain from day one, and couldn't even begin to fathom an extract recipe, (for now...I will do one, hopefully soon.)