I have to backsweeten apfelwein...after its been bottled!

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Papinquack

Reaction score
My first batch of apfelwein has been in bottles for 6 months. I never tried apfelwein before, I just went with the recipe and thought it would get better after it aged a bit. I opened a bottle and decided that it definitely needs back sweetened. I bought a wine conditioner to do the job. This is my first time using a wine conditioner ever. Is there anything I should be aware of lest I ruin 5 gallons? I should say 10 gallons because I have another 5 ready to bottle as well.

For the batch that is already bottled I think an easier solution would be to mix it with a little 7-up. Adds some carbonation and sweeten it a bit.

One other question I have. When I bottled my first batch, I didn't add any campden tablets because the recipe didn't say anything about adding it. Should I add some campden tablets before adding the wine conditioner?

The wine conditioner is made so that it adds sweetness without fermenting, so there's no need to.

I would still add campden prior, wine sweetener only contains k-sorbate, which will stop yeast from budding or restarting metabolism, but will not stop fermentation by still metabolically active yeast

its not much extra work to add and adds an extra layer of protection

I would still add campden prior, wine sweetener only contains k-sorbate, which will stop yeast from budding or restarting metabolism, but will not stop fermentation by still metabolically active yeast

Oh ok.. cool. I didn't know it only had k-sorbate.