Partial Mash Equipment Wish List

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Mr_Sar

Reaction score
Hello all!

I am new to homebrewing, however, I have done a few extract brews. I was thinking of moving over to partial mash in the New Year. I currently have the "Ale Pale" and a 5 gallon carboy. What other equipment do I need to add to my holiday wish list to get started with PM brewing?

I would not use the dual bucket method as during an hour mash you will lost 5 degrees thus defeating the entire purpose of mashing. (which is to gain more control over the final beer, in case you were wondering)

That is a good thread though it is quite long. I would suggest leafing through the whole thing to see everyone's ideas. You'll find you can spend about $25 - $100 on a cooler MLT, but they all work for the most part.

The bucket-tun doesn't make any sense to me, other that it's a couple dollars cheaper than doing one out of a cooler. I didn't lose a single degree in my Coleman Xtreme cooler during an hour-plus mash. I had a helluva time getting above 150, but it was at 150 for the entire hour. No screwing around with blankets or anything.

the_bird said:
The bucket-tun doesn't make any sense to me, other that it's a couple dollars cheaper than doing one out of a cooler. I didn't lose a single degree in my Coleman Xtreme cooler during an hour-plus mash. I had a helluva time getting above 150, but it was at 150 for the entire hour. No screwing around with blankets or anything.

And that was in 40 degree ambient Vermont air!

Why not do the mash in a pot on the stove and the lautering in the buckets?