cornie keg cleaning ? - oxyclean ok?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

devin_mac

Reaction score
i'm new to kegging (clearly) and just like the title says, i wanna sanity check that i can give my cornies a decent soak in oxyclean. i was figuring on filling them up with hot water and a scoop of the stuff, and then after 12 - 24 horus, empty and rinse, so they'll be good to go when i'm ready to sanitize and keg my first kegged batch.

thanks!

Oxyclean works great on kegs. I have left it in keg for a week with no issues.

If you haven't, you might want to take the keg apart and check all the seals before you keg with it.

yeah, i'm going to be taking them apart and inspecting/lubing the o-rings and whatnot. beyond that, it's clean and then hook up the gas with the keg filled with clean water, to pressure test them while i wait for the first to-be-kegged batch to finish secondary. :)

+1 on Oxy. I let it soak for an hour or so, overnight if it is new to me and really, really gunky. The rinse well, sanitize, hit it with ~24-30psi to seal, bleed it, then pressurize again and store them!:)

so you guys pre-sanitize your kegs when you clean them? do you re-sanitize just before filling with fermented deliciousness?

after I oxyclean mine, I usually do a small solution of starsan. I like pressure testing with this because of its habit of foaming or bubbling. Also, after I put pressure on it, I'll depress the liquid post to force starsan through the dip tube just make sure everything gets nice and sanitized.

so you guys pre-sanitize your kegs when you clean them? do you re-sanitize just before filling with fermented deliciousness?

I don't sanitize until just b/4 fill.