Hard Cider?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Adrian Crow

Reaction score
I tried to make hard cider from store bought cider and yeast. It seemed to work but it stank. this is the first time i tried this so im a total newb. Here are my questions:

1. Do i have to use brewers yeast or can i use baking yeast.
2. how long should i let it sit and what should the conditions be in the place i am storing it. (hot, warm, cold, light, dark ect.)

:mug:
Adrian Crow

1) Use an ale or wine yeast depending on how fruity/dry you want your cider to end up. "Brewers" yeast from a health food join is going to produce an awful drink and bread yeast even worse.

2) Ciders tend to take a while. Like a wine, I say you should be racking it every month until it clears. If you are making a flat apple wine, use some campden tables once you have hit your desired dryness. Let it clear and bottle/keg. It might take months to clear and taste good depending on what you used for juice and yeast. Some juices will never clear without filtering or treatment and are harder to judge. Usually a cider is ready to drink in about 3 months.

During primary fermentation you want it at a nice comfy temp for your yeast. Usually somewhere around 68-72f. Once the gravity stabilizes rack it into a secondary and story that as cold as you can. Mid 30's being ideal, but you won't hurt anything to leave it around 70f. IMHO you should do all of the aging in glass, not plastic.

I thought you'd get more responses in the cider thread, so I moved it here for you.