Liquid Malt Extract v.s. Dry Malt Extract

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

nerdlogic

Reaction score
I've been brewing for a few years, following recipes closely and using DME or LME when instructed. But whats the real difference? Like is there a conversion rate between the two? Why use DME over LME or the reverse?

example:

Is 2LB of DME equivalent to 2LB of LME?

Do you only need 6LB of of LME where you'd use 10LB of DME?

muchos gracias in advance to anyone who can answer

no.

2lb of LME is equivilant to 1.6lb of DME

I use this formula..

5# LME *.8 = 4# of DME
5# DME /.8 = 6.25# LME

Extract: Dry (DME) Vs. Liquid (LME) Vs. Canned

Dry
Pros:
Stays fresh longer than liquid
Easily storable, and easily transferred into separate containers. This comes in handy when using dry extract for starters, or for doing partial late extract additions
Available for bulk purchase from most any LHBS and most online stores
Easy to clean up any spills

Cons:
Tends to clump when added to wort. This is easily remedied by adding DME slowly and stirring constantly
Available in fewer varieties than LME
More expensive than LME

Liquid
Pros:
Available in many different varieties
Smells amazing. So amazing, in fact, that sometimes I'll dab a bit on my upper lip, and just be in a heavenly mood all day
Less expensive per pound than DME or canned extract

Cons:
You will at some point, regardless of how careful you are, spill this stuff. It's not too difficult to clean it off a stove top (if you're quick about it) but it will make your floor feel like velcro if left to dry. Clean it ASAP