Recipe Advice Needed - Chocolate Stout

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Greyhound

Reaction score
I'm a beginner and have only brewed 3 batches so far. All have been extract batches; 2 from pre-packaged kits, and one was a recipe from Clone Brews. For my next batch, I'm planning to brew my first "original" recipe - which I'm calling a Double Milk Chocolate Stout.

I love Young's Double Chocolate Stout, so I'm going for something similar to that, but I'm not really trying to replicate it. I've cobbled together the recipe below, taking bits & pieces from various recipes that I've read, and then plugged it into BeerSmith.

What do you guys think? Is this going to be any good? Any constructive criticism would be appreciated. Like I said, this is my first attempt, so I expect it to need quite a bit of tweaking. Thanks!

Recipe Specifications
--------------------------
Batch Size: 5.00 gal
Boil Size: 4.00 gal
Estimated OG: 1.054 SG
Estimated Color: 38.3 SRM
Estimated IBU: 21.0 IBU
Boil Time: 60 Minutes

Ingredients:
------------
Amount Item
6.00 lb Light Dry Extract (8.0 SRM)
0.50 lb Black (Patent) Malt (500.0 SRM)
0.50 lb Black Barley (Stout) (500.0 SRM)
0.50 lb Caramel/Crystal Malt - 40L (40.0 SRM)
0.60 oz Fuggles [4.30 %] (60 min)
0.50 oz Goldings, East Kent [5.00 %] (60 min)
1.00 tsp Irish Moss (Boil 15.0 min)
4.00 oz Cocoa, Unsweetened (Boil 5.0 min)
4.00 oz Cocoa, Unsweetened (Bottling 5.0 min)
6.00 oz Malto-Dextrine (Boil 5.0 min)
1 Pkgs English Ale (White Labs #WLP002)