How to increase Alcohol Content in beer?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

lencombs

Reaction score
Total noob, started with a mr. beer kit couple years ago, but wife just gave me a "deluxe" brewers best home brew kit. I'm starting simple with brewers best pre-packaged recipe kits, rabbit pellet hops, can malts etc. Have 1 batch fermenting now, and another kit ready to boil.

My question is this...how do I kick the alcohol content up a couple percentage points and make an extra stout brew for my third batch? yet keep the flavor palatable and not going into hard cider taste range.

yeast feeds on the sugar and by-product is alcohol, so sweeten up the wort will give the yeast more food, and do i need more yeast to eat the additional sugars? does fermenation temp change %alcohol content?

basically I want my third batch to be extra stout, around 6-6.5% alcohol, but not taste like hard cider. is that possible? if not what is reasonable.

I might be wrong on the amounts here, but I think that you get roughtly a 1% ABV increase for every pound of fermentable sugar that you add to the wort.

Am I right guys?

I think that calculation is right, though I wouldn't add more than a pound or two of sugar, some Belgian abbey ales use up to 15% sugar for the grist, but it's also because they want the beers to be dry. Except your beer to dry out when you add more sugar, since the yeast will ferment them completely because they are simpler sugars. If you use corn sugar or turbonado, at about 10% of the grist, you should not have to worry about the flavor becoming cidery.

roughly...really depends on what kind of sugar, no matter what it's less than 1% usually.

i'd just add malt extract