Coffee Porter Dry-Hopping w/ Coffee

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

DeadSquirrel

Reaction score
My question is, what kind of beans to pick up? I was figuring a french roast would work well. I'm picking up the vodka and beans tonight to soak for a couple of weeks. Then I'm going to put it into the carboy for a few more weeks.

Whadaya'll think?

I wondered about dry steeping coffee beans also, I believe the oils may present a problem, but I am no expert.

You might be better off leaving the beans in the vodka and adding the coffee a bit at a time in the bottling bucket. That way you can stop adding when you have enough flavor. Actually, I be more inclined to just boil some water and let it cool rather than using vodka. I'd also coarse grind the beans.

Be advised....I used about 6oz of coarsely crushed beans in secondary for about a week. This was WAY too much coffee flavor for a similar beer.

I'd either cut the amount in half, or cold brew some coffee and put it in secondary, or add at bottling. Personally, I don't see the point of using vodka.

I would actually avoid darker roasts due to the aforementioned oils. Go for something lightly roasted which would Guatemalan, Costa Rican, Panamanian or other Central American bean in the hands of an experience roaster (i.e., not Charbucks). Some Africans such as Kenyan or Ethiopian would also fit the bill.

Or just pick some up at the grocery store and toss them in :)