Bottle carbonating problem x2

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

fishanhunt

Reaction score
I'm new to brewing. I have brewed 2 batches from kits that I ordered from Austin Homebrewing. One was a Texas Blonde Ale and the other was a Mexican Lager. Both tasted fine but not enough carbonation. Both batches I bottled and stored for 4 weeks. I put some in the fridge for a week or so and they would be flat when I opened them. I thought maybe I didn't get a good seal on the caps so I shook them up and opened a hot one and it went everywhere. So I tried a warm one out of the closet without shaking it and it was carbonated. So I shook some up, refridgerated them a few days and they were kinda carbed but not enough. I thought that I did something wrong while bottling but my last batc of the Mexican Lager did the same thing. any ideas ???:confused::confused:

Can you share a little more information about the process you used when bottling? What did you use for priming sugar? How much priming sugar did you use? Without knowing those things it is a bit difficult to guess what might be going on.

The Homebrew Nerd
thehomebrewnerd.com

I used the priming sugar that is sent with the kit. Followed the instructions that were sent with the kit. I don't remember the exact amount but I boiled the amount of water the instuctions called for, added the priming sugar to the water and boiled it for specified time and put it in my bottling bucket then moved my beer from the carboy to the bottling bucket using a siphon.

Should I try stirring the beer after adding it to the bottling bucket or maybe try more sugar ???

Should I try stirring the beer after adding it to the bottling bucket or maybe try more sugar ???