Where Are All the Mini Kegs?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

BlackHat

Reaction score
Before I begin, let me say that I've never kegged a batch of homebrew in my life, and that I'm fairly new to the HB scene. I'm not ready to make the investment in a full keg system, so I was wondering if anyone knew of a good, inexpensive mini keg kit. Good as in easy to use and clean, inexpensive as in ~50USD and mini as in right around 2 gallons.

Thanks!

Your best bet is to forgoe those sold by the local HBS.

Find some beers that are sold with the built-in gravity tap. These have a pull out spout near the bottom and in the top have a bung with a red knob you have to turn to let air enter the keg and allow flow. This will save you the price of buying a tap.

The bungs on top are replaceable.

The Heineken minikeg is not reusable.;)

I got mine from midwest, but i would suggest going with the philtap and not the party star. it allows for being able to put the kegs in either a tilted or vertical position and also comes with a drip tray, sort of.

maybe consider the Tap-a-draft outfit, although, the money spent there would be a good start on a eal kegging outfit. Ebay can get you some great deals on regs etc

I use the Pig. It's a pretty good system.

The only downfall is that you have to buy those packets in order to inflate the pig. But it's easy to use, portable, you don't need a CO2 tank, and they're easy to clean.

I find them extremely useful for when I want to bottle half a batch, maybe for aging reasons, and keg the remainder for portability (parties, post-ice hockey game in the lockeroom). Things like that...

The funny thing is that the 3 gallon cornelius kegs are about 4 times as expensive as the 5 gallon ones... go figure

Donasay said: