Bad smell in my starter

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Torchiest

Reaction score
I just pitched a starter made with White Labs WLP300 Hefeweizen, and after I did, I smelled the jar I'd had it in. It had a funky/bad smell to it, which kinda concerned me. The yeast is about three months past its "best by" date, and I'm worried it might be dead.

On the other hand, I've never used this variety before, and in fact, I've never used a wheat beer yeast before, so maybe the weird smell was just a normal part of the fermentation, like a sulphur smell type event. If anyone has an experience using this yeast, I'd appreciate comments.

I thought those yeasties kind of had a weird smell by their nature. Not sure though, I've never brewed a hefe.

Dan

Can you be more specific on the smell?

That yeast does stink though. Sulphury, and just...well...wierd.

I'd step it up again before oyu use it to make sure the yeast are healthy.....

Hehe, oops, I meant that I pitched the starter into my wort, not that I'd just made the starter. It had been sitting in the kitchen for two days. It looked like there was a little action yesterday, so I think it's probably doing something. Mainly I was curious if people had used and smelled it before.

As for the smell, I just went and took a few more whiffs of the jar (yum) and it's almost like a dirty diaper smell. :confused:

Like Dude said, that yeast is funky. I wouldn't worry about the date since you made a starter.

Well crap. I pitched yeast into two batches yesterday. Got up this morning, the belgian ale is bubbling like gangbusters. Meanwhile, the hefeweizen yeast I pitched is totally silent. I'm a bit worried now, although I have not yet had a batch in which the yeast didn't work.