Alpha Beta ohh ahh!

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

billdog

Reaction score
But seriously..........

I am relatively new to all grain and I am seeing some mash steps that raise this question. The NB all grains directions want a Beta rest followed by an Alpha rest. With my current equiptment I cannot do it in this manner. I can however start at the higher temp for Alpha then step down to a cooler temp (via cold pak) to reach my Beta. Then I batch sparge.

Can anyone tell me the ill affectes or con's to mashing in such a manner???

Thanks,
Billdog

:mug:

Going higher to lower doesn't work.... enzymes are incredibly hard to put back together after they've been degraded (i.e. due to higher temps)

Why can't you bump up the temperature by 10 degrees using hot water?

EDIT: Also, love the title.

Yeah, adding some boiling water is going to be the easiest way to bump it up. If you start at a water:grain ratio a little below your target and wind up a little above your target after the addition, it shouldn't affect too much.