Planning my first cider

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

yellowjacket

Reaction score
I plan starting my first cider sometime next week. I am a full time student so my money/time is very limited. My plan is to come out of this with a sweet uncarbed cider in a relatively short amount of time with the least amount of money and without sacrificing too much quality.

So far the supplies I've gathered are:

5 gallon carboy off of craigslist $20

Nottingham yeast
hydrometer
campden tablets $18 for all
syphon tubing

I plan on using enough frozen apple concentrate, tap water, and maybe some sugar/syrup to raise the sg to fill my carboy. Im going to make a starter with a stirplate using nottingham yeast. Now before I add the starter solution to my carboy would it be beneficial to add a campden tablet or two?

Im going to let the cider ferment until it gets a little sweeter than what im looking for, expected sg around 1.010-1.015 and then dropping it in a cooler full of ice. I plan on racking it after two days and letting that sit in the ice cooler until it clears out. Hopefully the extended time in the ice will be enough to stop fermentation so that I can bottle the cider without worrying about any bottlebombs.

Like I said this is my first time brewing anything so I imagine that I'm being a little optimistic about this whole endeavor. I'm looking to avoid as many mistakes as possible before I make them, so please if something seems wrong or if it could be better let me know.

Yes, since you are mixing concentrate juice, you could contaminate it, so add Campden tablets.