Bring on the hops! Adding more hops to existing recipes?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

HasstheBoss

Reaction score
Is it safe to assume that adding more of the same kind of hops will simply add more hop bitterness and/or aroma?

I'm looking at brewing a light wheat beer recipe that calls for 1 oz of Willamette for the full 60 mins and 1 oz of Cascade for the last 15mins. I assume the beer will turn out with only a little hop kick, so I was thinking of simply adding more to get a light beer with a hoppy finish.

I was thinking of just doubling what they call for (2oz for 60mins + 2 oz @ final 15mins), but I have no experience with tweaking recipes or making my own. I also figured that brewing more light beers will be a good jumping off point for making my own recipes.

Anything I should consider?

thanks in advance
:mug:
-Eric

Doubling might be overkill, especially for a wheat.

You could add another ounce @ 30 min. You could also boil them longer, use more water (if a 2.5gal boil), use a hop with a higher alpha acid, or even do a late extract addition to get more IBU's

I think going from 2 oz to 4 oz is going to be overly hoppy and bitter for a wheat. You said you wanted more hop kick/finish. Do you want more of an aroma, or more of a bitterness?

Adding more hops at the end of the boil won't add much IBU's (bitterness), but will add more aroma. If you wanted a little bit of both, add another ounce, but do it @30min instead of a full 60.

+1 to what 1990dtgl98 said.

Adding hops at 60 mins will really just make the beer more bitter
Adding at 15 mins will add more flavour
Adding at 2 mins will give more aroma