Simple, cheap smoking?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Soulive

Reaction score
How can I do it? I have the 24" (roughly) wide Weber charcoal grill. Can I use that to smoke some pork butt? I'd also like to do pork tenderloin, fish, and chicken. I'm a noob with this stuff...

Try this forum: Smoking Meat Forums There's a ton of information here. I use my 3-burner gas grill by removing the grate on one side and wrapping hardwood chunks in foil and placing the foil wrapped packets directly on the metal burner shield. I only use that burner on low to produce temps of about 275F and place the meat on the far side. I smoke whole chickens for about 4 hours and a pork shoulder for about 10 hours (if I remember correctly). You'll need a digital probe that I also use for brewing. Some hard core meat smokers will insist that you need a dedicated smoker but my grill works great. Good luck!

I tried this once. It worked ok. Here's how I did it:

Pile all your charcoal on one half of the grill. Hang a piece of heavy aluminum foil from the middle of the grate to keep the heat indirect. Start the fire (preferably NO lighter fluid). Keep the airflow to a minimum by closing the vents almost completely. Once the fire is stabilized, throw a few good sized chunks of hardwood on it. Put the meat on the side opposite the fire, and try to keep the temp low (no more than 250°F for pork butt) without snuffing the fire...that's the hard part!