First taste from first brew

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

slowspoke

Reaction score
I couldn't wait any longer to try my first beer I made. Put 1 in the fridge at noon to have after work. I was surprised at the carbonation and taste after only 5 days in the bottle. This is a German Altbier with a dark amber color with a mild hop taste. Wife described it as a bit of molassas flavor but said she likes it.
Don't know if I can wait the 3+ weeks for it to get better cause it's GOOD now.
:ban: :mug: :cross:

It's ok to sample before 3 weeks! Almost everyone does it, it's nice to see how it improves. Just don't panic if you open one from a different batch after 5 days and it's not all that great.

as a novice myself - i say, "drink up." but save a couple for later to see if the beer does markedly improve.

It's hard to wait isn't it?
I predict that when you drink the last bottle you will say " Oh man this has really gotten good. I wish there were more left" :mug:

Intersting choice of a first beer to brew. Altbier. Good on 'ya Slowspoke.

Funny how that beer can taste early. Good. Then it gets better. Delicious. And then...darn it's gone. Would have tasted great in 3 months no doubt but who has the the time. Or beer.

My first beer will be 3 weeks in bottles this saturday, I've already drank half of it...

I'll be saving a few bottles for my friends and family who come out here to ski in the spring, I guess I'll find out what is should taste like then...oh well.