A Dumb Yeast Question From A Rookie

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

michaelob

Reaction score
I just made my first batch from a extract kit with dry yeast, and it turned out great. I was fermenting in like 2 hours. Im gonna start my nxt batch this week what is the advantage for liquid yeast ? will it change the taste?

The advantage for liquid yeast is that there are more varieties. Depending on what kind of beer you are making, a dry yeast will work just as well as its liquid cousin, but for a fraction of the price and with no starter.

I'm a newbie too, and learned from some of the advanced posters here that dry yeast doesn't require a starter, though many recommend rehydrating dry yeast (put it in warm, sterile water, let sit for 15 minutes, stir and let sit for 5-10 minutes) before pitching.
Some of the advanced guys believe that much liquid packs don't have enough yeast cells for OPTIMUM fermentation, but you still get good/ok fermentation with liquid. I'm going to wait on getting equipment to make starters, with the whole "stir plate/beakers/equipment" thing costing maybe $200, but I'll definitely go that way soon. I learned to pay attention to what temperature the yeast likes, and ensure my wort is at that temperature.
I don't have a fridge for fermenting/lagering yet, so I'm using the "swamp cooler" technique and have been able to keep my primary fermenter at a steady 68 degrees with very little effort. That's 10 degrees cooler than ambient room temp, and I'm not even using a fan. This is amazingly easy, effective, and free.
Also, highly recommend John Palmer's book "How to Brew". You must read this book at least twice.
Cheers