Was this obvious to everyone but me???

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Kephren

Reaction score
When I was a kid... maybe 9 or 10, I ordered a "malt" thinking it was the same thing as a "shake." It was awful. At least by my standards back then. I'm 31 now and yesterday I decided I would try one again. I got my vanilla malt, and at the first sip, I then realized what "malt" was! Tasted just like DME! How could I not have realized this?
So tonight, I made a milkshake at home, added 1-2 tbsp of light DME and what do you know... a malted milkshake! I wish I had a kid to share it with :)

I've always preferred malts, if they're made right. Got one once, and the malt stuff wasn't mixed up. It was all crunchy. Blech.

Since I started brewing, I've wondered if they actually use DME in them, or some imitation stuff.

I don't recall the last time I had a malted milk shake but I know I HATE malted milk balls. Or at least I did before I started this hobby... hmm, Should I purchase or make my own. :confused:

So, I'm confused now. what is the core ingredient of "Malt Shakes". It ain't barley malt is it?? :confused: I'm not interested enough to google this one...

I worked at a Sonic all through high school. A malt was just a milkshake that they added some sort of powder to.

My web search reveals that "malt" is indeed malted barley. Carnation Malted Milk powder is just malt plus powdered milk. And the malt I made tonight was excellent and tasted even better than the restaurant malt I had yesterday - my guess is they use the powdered stuff and quality ingredients play a role.

Walker said:
malto-dextrin to add body, probably.