Residual Alkalinity, how important?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

nilo

Supporting Member
HBT Supporter
Reaction score
First, I think there should be a room here just for water chemistry talking, seriously. Yooper, what you think?:D

How important is to match the residual alkalinity with the beer style?
I'm new to water chemistry here , and like many I guess, very frustrated.
John Palmer stated (I just heard him saying this on Jamil's show from 2009 podcast) that we should have residual alkalinity as follow, to yield good beer:
-60 to 0 =>Pale, golden, yellow and light ales
0 to 120 => Pale Amber, dark amber, copper color
120 to 250 => Brown ales, porters and stouts

I understand that the most important part of adjusting our brewing water is
-make sure your mash PH is between 5.2 and 5.4
-try to set your chloride to sulfate ratio to your preferences
-reduce minerals that comes in huge quantities for those with very hard water.

What about RA? Should we be adding salts to match Palmer's suggestions? Is this outdated and RA has proven to not be as important as previously thought?

Hopefully not very important. There's no way I can get my water up there in ra, without blowing up my ph levels. Unless i'm missing something.

_