recipe help, a beer for SWBMO lemongrass/Pomegranate hefe

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

KyleWolf

Reaction score
Hey everyone,

So as my experience/enjoyment/equipment/expenditures into this hobby increase, the approval of SWMBO is in decline. So what to do? Eureka, brew her (with her help ;) ) a tasty beer. She is a hefe fan. She also complains that so few things use lemongrass...ok easy enough (I have a kickbutt oriental supermarket that sells whole stalks). I also think I will add some pomegranate.

This should end with a good mild hefe with a bit of a sweet/tart kick to do battle with the moderate hops. The ingredients and hops I picked up from Wildmer Hefe recipe. Though I have zero experience working lemongrass of pomegranate (thinking of using *POM)

3.75lb Pale LME
2.00lb Wheat Dry Extract (not sure if this is a decent substitute)
0.25lb Crystal 40L
0.25lb Munich 10L

OG- approx 1.048
FG- approx 1.013
7- SRM

0.5oz Warrior pellet 45min boil
0.5oz Willamette Pellet 15min boil
0.25oz Cascade pellet 10min boil

IBU-25

1.5 oz lemongrass 5min boil
1 split med/small stalk lemongrass into secondary
(Looking for the lemongrass flavor, not just grassy)

and don't know if I want to add *POM into primary and let some of the sweetness/tartness ferment out, OR if I stick it into secondary week before bottling/kegging. I imagine in a 5gal batch a single 12oz bottle would suffice (dont want a strong presence, just in tucked away in there).

*as an edit/sidenote, I have contacted Saranac to ask about pomegranate additions in the pomegranate hefe...just haven't heard back yet.

Thanks in advance. This could really springboard my brewing :) and I wouldn't complain over a nice summer hefe.

Thanks again
Kyle