Citra Pale Ale and Late DME/LME

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
So, I'm very new to homebrewing, but I'm going to attempt to brew a Citra Pale Ale. I can post the exact recipe later, but my question may be able to be answered without the recipe.

I've been reading a lot on adding some malt extract to the end of the boil instead of all at once in the beginning (especially for light colored beers like IPAs/Pale Ales). I have a few questions regarding this process.

1. I'm using DME and LME in this recipe. Which one do I add late in the boil?

2. Should I add the late extract at flameout or 15 mins? Or another time?

3. How much should I save for late in the boil? Go half and half? 25% at the start and 75% late?

If it is any use, I have 5 oz of Citra pellets (to be added throughout the boil) and 3 oz of Citra leaf hops for dry hopping.

Thanks for the help. I know there is a lot of information in these forums regarding this, but I couldn't quite find the answer to these specific questions.

i only use DME in my ales now. but i used to do the LME first then more of the LME and DME at the end 5min or at flameout... 25% at the begining then add the other at the end of boil..5 0z seems like a lot for a pale ale depending on your grain bill..even one ounce at 60 packs a punch...but again depends on your recipe...

good luck man post updates when youre done :)

I generally add 25% of extract at 60min then 75% at flameout and stir like crazy to make sure it gets mixed in.

Well I mean not to make I bubble. Just to make sure it dosent stick. I've never had any problems or oxidization.

What do you guys think of this recipe? (I modified the original). Im going to do a 3gal concentrated boil.

Fermentables: