Can I ferment in a bottling bucket?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

timgman

Reaction score
Can I ferment in a bottling bucket?...
I just thought it might be easier so I don't need to transfer...
My primary goal is to have the spigot... maybe I can put a spigot on a fermenter bucket?
thanks
timg

One concern I would have is wether the spigot/port will hold for 3+ weeks of fermenting. Other than that, it sounds cool. They do make plastic conicals thought if thats the route you want to go.

doubleb said:
One concern I would have is wether the spigot/port will hold for 3+ weeks of fermenting. Other than that, it sounds cool. They do make plastic conicals thought if thats the route you want to go.

I'm new to all of this... I've only used mr-beer stuff...

What's a conical?
thanks sir ;)

these wonderful things
f3-family.jpg

You can just open up that lovely little valve at the bottom and all the trub falls out. Voila! Secondary! And then, when it comes time to bottle, it's also a bottling bucket. Big, beautiful, useful conicals. I don't think they come in sizes smaller than 10g though.

With many kits that include a glass secondary, the plastic primary doubles as the bottling bucket.

I use a seperate bottling bucket, though my plastic primary does have a spigot.

For darker beers, I usually skip the secondary, however I do not bottle from the primary.

The reason for me is that if I primed the primary, I would have to stir it, which would kick up a great deal of sediment, which would end up in the beer. Also, I don't even use the spigot on the primary to rack/transfer, as it sits very low, and tends to suck in a great deal of sediment regardless.

nick