Anyone used the eBay Amp meters?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

SweetSounds

Reaction score
I want to install ammeters in my control panel for the main, and each heating element, so I can control the system if I'm under a power restriction. It'll draw a full 50 amps if I let both 5500 watt elements go to 100%.

Has anyone looked at or used these?
They are certainly cheap enough, but I've never used an inline shunt before. It makes me a little nervous on a 50 amp circuit.

I'd prefer meters with choke coils to measure current, but I haven't found any yet...

I have just installed but not used yet, a pair of 30 amp 240 V Shurite analog ammeters in my control panel. As far as I can tell, they get directly wired in line with the load. I do want to double check that with the manufacturer before I fire up the system. The website for the manufacturer is - http://www.primetechnology.com/PartsDetails.aspx?PartsId=77&Parentid=28&ParentType=C and the ones I have are 8505z. I got them from Newark electronics, about $24 each. I am using one for HLT and one for BK.

I'll let you know what Shurite says about connecting them.

I have just installed but not used yet, a pair of 30 amp 240 V Shurite analog ammeters in my control panel. As far as I can tell, they get directly wired in line with the load. I do want to double check that with the manufacturer before I fire up the system. The website for the manufacturer is - http://www.primetechnology.com/PartsDetails.aspx?PartsId=77&Parentid=28&ParentType=C and the ones I have are 8505z. I got them from Newark electronics, about $24 each. I am using one for HLT and one for BK.

I'll let you know what Shurite says about connecting them.