Tropical Fruit Beer Recipe Idea

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

ehage4

Reaction score
I had this idea for a tropical fruit beer. I'm still pretty new to brewing, so any suggestions or tips would be great.

For the tropical flavor I want to use mango, pineapple, and orange. I made this recipe by based on other fruit beer recipes on the forum and combining things I thought looked good.

Recipe Type: Extract
Yeast: Belgian Wit Ale (White Labs #WLP400)
Batch Size (Gallons): 5
Original Gravity: 1.052
Final Gravity: 1.012
IBU: 34.0
Boiling Time (Minutes): 60
Color: 9.1
Primary Fermentation (# of Days & Temp): 7 days at 70 F
Secondary Fermentation (# of Days & Temp): 7 days at 70 F

7 lbs Wheat Liquid Extract [82.4%]
1 lb Caramel 20L Malt [11.8%]
0.5 lb Carapils [5.9%]

0.75 oz Galena [12.50%] (25.2 IBUs) 60 min
0.75 oz Citra [12.00%] (8.8 IBUs) 10 min

Fruits
-20 oz fresh mango
-20 oz canned pineapple
-3 oz orange zest

The fruits/juices will go in the secondary. Any thoughts/criticisms? Thanks in advance!

I've personally never used pineapple in a beer, but I've had a pineapple beer before, Maui Brewing Companys Mana Wheat.
To be honest, the pineapple flavor comes off really strong so I'd say be careful.

Also, Citra hops have a tropical nature to them so you might want to consider those.
If you want to get a good idea of what Citra hops can taste/smell like I would recommend the Citra version of Hermitage Brewing Companys Single Hop Series IPAs.

Also, you may not want to add the juice from the canned fruit as usually its mostly just some kind of sugar water (check the ingredients) which will kick up fermentation again giving you a higher alcohol content than you might have originally intended and also causing you to have a dryer beer.